top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Dunnaway

Europe's eVisa Requirement: What It Is and What You Need to Know

Americans need an eVisa when they are traveling to certain countries that require an electronic visa for entry. The specific requirements for an eVisa can vary depending on the country being visited. It is recommended to check the visa requirements of the destination country before traveling.

Americans can typically apply for an eVisa by visiting the official website of the country they are planning to travel to. The application process usually involves filling out an online form, providing necessary documentation, and paying the required fees. It is important to follow the instructions provided on the official website to ensure a smooth application process.

Additionally, some countries may also allow travelers to apply for an eVisa through third-party visa processing services.

Some countries that require Americans to obtain an eVisa for entry include:

1. Australia

2. India

3. Turkey

4. Kenya

5. Vietnam

6. Sri Lanka

7. Azerbaijan

8. Myanmar

9. Uzbekistan

10. Cambodia

(Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and visa requirements can vary. It is recommended to check the visa requirements of the specific country you plan to visit before traveling.)

And by 2025, 26 EU countries.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is a travel authorization system that will be implemented by the European Union for travelers from visa-exempt countries, including Americans, who wish to visit the Schengen Area.

The Schengen Area is a zone of 26 European countries that have abolished passport control at their mutual borders.

ETIAS is designed to enhance security and border management by pre-screening travelers before their arrival in the Schengen Area. Travelers will need to apply for an ETIAS authorization online before their trip. The authorization will be valid for multiple entries and will allow stays of up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

ETIAS is expected to be implemented by May 2024.  It is important for Americans and other visa-exempt travelers to be aware of this new requirement when planning their meetings and events in Europe.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Reach Logo jpg.jpg
bottom of page